[Surprise, surprise.]

[2012-11-08] @ [5:23 p.m.]

I love surprises. Especially when they are not planned or figured out. Since I am crocheting more, one of my friends told me about her coworker that had yarn to give away. She gave me her work number to call her. That was about 6 months ago because I changed my phone and I lost the text with this lady's number.

I didn't remember to get this lady's number again until we needed more yarn for a project in the church. After the Christmas presentation we are doing in December, the church wanted to give the kids 11 years old and younger a present. One of the youth girls loves crocheting, and she decided to collect a group together and crochet/knit hats for all the kids we may be receiving on our 2-night presentation. They are estimating at least a few hundred kids at this event (so far I've made 5 hats. So much for my contribution. But I'm still going to try).

I texted my friend again last week to get the number, and I called this lady yesterday. We decided to meet at her office. In downtown. Around lunchtime. I was so nervous because I thought I wasn't going to have enough time to drive from Temple Terrace to Downtown and back for work. But I told her I'll stop by at lunchtime today. The drive was shorter than I expected, even when they have been working on the interstate for I don't know how many years now. The building wasn't too far from the exit, and the traffic wasn't as bad as I would think. I was surprised to get a parking spot, find the office and the lady, and drive out of there in less than 30 minutes. She gave me a big box of fancy yarn and a big bag full of yarn and other things, with the words "I love knitting" embroidered on the side. I don't prefer knitting, but I thought to myself maybe I should pick up knitting too. I looked at the yarn in the bag, and I found the greatest surprise. She gave me her knitting needles, crochet hooks and knitting circles. I was amazed at all the cool stuff I found in the bag. It must have been hundreds of dollars in supplies and yarn. And I know a place where I can easily swap yarn I can't use for yarn I want.

After I saw the knitting needles, I remembered my mom talking about how she would like to have a pair of chunky needles. Now I have the best gifts for her birthday this weekend. And everything I received was F R E E. I'm so excited!

comment
previous - next

~ silverluna

Click here to donate to Diaryland by purchasing through Amazon!