[Being slow...]

[2006-01-06] @ [10:20 a.m.]

Music: 30 Seconds to Mars-Attack

I was just looking for a specific verse that spoke about anger. I looked it up on BibleGateway.com, and 270 results came for anger. I skimmed through some of the verses, and I saw that most of them was about God's anger: He was provoked to anger, their actions aroused His anger, etc. I also read a couple of verses that stated God is slow to anger. That brought two thoughts to my mind.
1) If God is slow to anger, then the people must have done something really badto get him that way. Or they didn't listen to what he told them. But they must have done this for a long time to get him angry. The Bible even says he got furious and killed people on the spot for their disobedience.
2) If God is slow to anger, then I need to be slow to anger too. All this frustration and pressure has turned me into a short-tempered rocket. It's something I definately need to work on.

But through all those verses I found this one:

Psalm 30:5 (NIV)
For his anger lasts only a moment, but his favor lasts a lifetime; weeping may remain for a night, but rejoicing comes in the morning.
That's a relief. I've definately felt his favor, which is something I know I don't deserve. And every time I go to bed crying, he gives me a new day to fix my mistakes and do the best I can. And that, ladies and gentleman, is grace.

~Silverluna

comment
previous - next

~ silverluna

Click here to donate to Diaryland by purchasing through Amazon!