[I am a College Graduate...]

[2005-05-10] @ [9:03 a.m.]

So, I am finally a college graduate with an Associates in Liberal Arts. They had the ceremony last night, the long, long ceremony. Well, let me start at the beginning.
I had to be at the convention center at 5:30pm. So I left early for work to get ready. Shawn called me and we talked for a bit. I finished getting ready and I left at 5:30pm. I really hate being late. It was so hard to find parking in downtown, especially when there was a Sarah McGlawkin concert going on just down the street. The parking was packed everywhere. So I really got there at 6:00pm. They made us stand in line and wait for about an hour. I made some new friends, though. A few of my friends from class were graduating, but I knew no one else. And I'm wondering Where did these people come from?? Finally the lines start to move, and I looking around trying to find my family and friends. There was a bout 20 people scattere around the room. I found my youth pastor and some of the youth that came, but I didn't find anyone else. So we all sat and heard speech after speech. Yawn. Then finally it was diploma time. Of course, I have to have my last name start with an S, so I was pretty close to the end. As she said my name and I crossed that platform, there was screaming all around the room. And of course, evryone got a certificate. I need to wait for my diploma in the mail. When I sat back down, people around me were starting to leave. I saw my dad looking for me, so I walked up to him. He said everyone is waiting for me, so I left too. I know, everyone was suppose to wait until the ceremony was done. I have no manners...hehe. We went to a pizza place afterwards. It was great to have my family with me.

You know what I realized? I am not a young person with a high school diploma anymore. I am a college graduate. Crossing that platform had a different feel than when I got my high school diploma. I am at the next step of my life. And all I can do now is keep going...

~Silverluna

comment
previous - next

~ silverluna

Click here to donate to Diaryland by purchasing through Amazon!